Protests

Here in the UK we’ve had several nights of riots in various parts of the country.  I’m not going to blog about the ins and outs of it all.  The yobs however have scupper my plans for this evening – Knit Night is cancelled (we meet in the centre of Brum).  One of the reasons why there are riots is because of protest against the cuts.

 

I know all about the cuts.  I work in libraries which leads me on to the next thing I want to comment about – the WI.  I would love to be a member – it is one of my aims in life (however sad you may think I am) to find the time to attend meetings (maybe when I go part-time or retire – both are a long way off – not that I wish to wish my life away).  They’ve recently decided to have as one of their causes for this year a campaign to save libraries and as part of that campaign have set up a petition.  If you are reading this and live in the UK and care I would be grateful if you could click the link and sign:

http://epetitions.direct.gov.uk/petitions/1269

Thank you!

 

Leave a Reply

