Herman

Today I was given Herman to look after.  I have to feed him, water him and show him lots of love.  I was asked after I tweeted/Faceached that I had received him what was Herman?

Well, could he be a furry four legged thing?

No.

Does he have two legs?  Therefore could be a child or a bird?

No.

And no, he’s not a fish either.

Is he a plant?

Erm…… I don’t think that’s the best way to describe him.

This is how he got delivered to me.

Arrival of Herman

The first instruction was to give him a proper home for him to grow in.  This I did as soon as I could after I got home.  After all he had been stuck at work with me all day, stood ages in the cold waiting for a bus and by the time we got home…… well I was definitely in a mood – Herman I don’t think commented.

I had to check that he was okay.

Is he breathing?

 

Yep.  Looks like he’s breathing okay.

I guess the best way to describe Herman is a culture.  He is a Sourdough starter, which once nurtured, grown, shared  can be then baked and eaten is part of a chain letter (although a lot nicer in my humble honest opinion) called the German Friendship Sourdough Cake (really like the Amish link!).

Cake – YUM! Trouble is I’m a Coeliac and well….. Herman has been created using wheat.  Now when I first was asked would I take Herman in I did think could I feed him Gluten-Free Flour?  After reading up on Sourdough I decided that since it’s almost a scientific process (all to do with Chemicals – I wasn’t a Science fan at school) I decided may be best not to.  After all it’s not Herman’s fault he was created the way he was and it’s no-one fault that God decided to make me special, stand out from the crowd etc.  By not being able to eat wheat (No one said difficult did they?  No?  Oh good!).   I also feel that flour shopping could make a very interesting blog feature in the next couple of days.

Anyway back to his new home.  One of the things I had read that when first creating, things need to be sterile to prevent mould so I decided to sterilise a big bowl (a bowl that has enough room for him to grow).  I did it in my usual manner of warming up the oven and putting a bowl in.  I needed the oven on anyway for my tea (it being Friday gluten-free fish fingers and chips).

Once I was happy that it was sterile I took the bowl out and let it cool before transferring over.

So this is Herman in his new home.

Herman in his new home

 

I’ve now covered him and placed a note on him stating that he should not be moved.   I hope he will be happy staying with me.  It’s going to be a fun learning process over the next ten days.  An adventure which I’m really looking forward too!

Leave a Reply

