Thoughts of the past week.

This time last week I was involved with celebrating the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee.  A community party at one of the churches I go to had been arrange and it was a great success.  It was so nice to see that so many people across the UK had decided to celebrate such an important occasion.

Celebration cake

60 years is a very long time and at the end of the day we have to remember that the Queen (despite what some may think) is actually doing a job.  How many of us can work for 60 years in the same job? Her job has a twist she had to surrender everything to the role, a thing that God asks us to do. How many of us can do that?  Surrender everything?  It’s pretty hard to do as we are human beings who have feelings and wants.  When we surrender they have to be put aside.  When we do this blessings come and I am sure the Queen has many to tell about.  May God continue to bless you Ma’m.

Baking

Whilst I was off for the extended Bank Holiday I wanted to do some baking.  I wanted to bake a cake but when I got to my fridge there was a disaster – NO BUTTER! Now the shops were all open and I could have gone out but I decided that really I shouldn’t because the Jubilee holiday was supposed to be for all.  So a store cupboard alternative had to be made.  A search on the internet came up trumps Castagnaccio – a traditional Italian cake.  Also completely Gluten and Diary Free!

Cake before it went into the oven

The cake is very easy to make however I would go easy on the amount of water that it suggests as I found the batter to be very thin using the whole amount, not thick as it described.  Luckily I had lots of chestnut flour so I added a little more.  The mixture ended up filling two 7in round cake tins.  I would advise if your oven is fierce like mine to gently dunk some of the fruit into the mixture as this makes the fruit more moist and stops it getting burnt – same also on the pine nuts.  I used fennel seeds but I think I OD on them as well as this made the cake an acquired taste!

The cake itself came out quite doughy almost like a bread pudding which gave me an idea for a form of stuffing for Christmas.  Now I’m sure in my search I found a savoury version  …. where it was I’m not sure …. only 196 days to find it! LOL!

Leave a Reply

