Writing down prayers

I’m in the middle of reading “The Help” by Kathryn Stockett.  Yeah, OK, I know it’s taken me awhile to get round to reading it but in my defence I did see the film and LOVED IT! So much that actually when I’m reading it I see scenes from the film flash in my mind (and I want to watch it again…like now….before I get to the end of the book!).  Anyway one of the main characters Aibileen writes down her prayers.  She started to write them down as a way of practicing her writing but by writing them she feels that they have more power.

Now I do know the power of prayer and there have been times in my life where I have seen God’s hand working.  I have in the past written down my prayers.  A few months ago I decided to write them down on a wipe board that I have on the Fridge door.  Now the board is supposed to be for items needed from the shop but I never bother doing that, but I thought that if I write the names of those I am praying for everytime I go to the fridge I will see it and take a moment to pray for them.

There are many things that at the moment I am praying for and so inspired by Aibileen I thought I would type them out for you.  The names as always are initials to protect those concerned. Maybe even you could join me in praying also.

For D & J both suffering with cancer and receiving treatment.

For those who are unemployed and looking for work.  For those who are facing redundancy.  For K who is experiencing difficulties at work.

For my local churches especially the URC who are searching for a new minister.

For S who needs strength over the next few weeks.

For those devastated by Sandy and those who are dealing with the hurricane.

For those whose names God has placed on my heart K, D, J, L & T.

There are plenty more beside including ones that are unsaid, but God hears them all.

Leave a Reply

