The magical spell

Has been casted off! My owls are finished!

20130403-182739.jpg

All I needed was buttons for the eyes. This gave me an excuse to visit my new local yarn shop Stitch Solihull The origins of the shop come from two members of the knitting group that I attend that meets weekly on a Thursday in the upstairs of Starbucks, Touchwood in Solihull, from about 5pm onwards.

I decided since I know the girls that cake would be appreciated so yesterday I made some cake. I made a diary free cake in case one of ladies who lives locally popped in. The recipe is here – it was interesting to make it and although it sounds weird it actually tastes very nice. The other one I made was Red Velvet Cake – it ended up being more or a dark pink as I ran out of red food colouring and had to use the pink that I had. Also I had to learn how to make buttermilk, which is a lot easier than you think!

So off I went! The shop is light and airy with everything well laid out. There is ribbons, fabric, needles, threads, yarn (of course) and buttons – which is what I went for. There is something for every one and for every pocket. There are knitting meet ups and there will be workshops.

So Al, I hear you ask did you just buy buttons? Well dear reader….Yes I know I’m sort of on a yarn fast and yes I may just try and pass it off as thick thread like I did last time I broke the fast….. But

20130403-185121.jpg

Isn’t it beautiful? So scrummy!

It will become a shawl eventually. Just got to decide on the pattern. I may also have to cast on something else in the mean time.

I encourage you to visit the shop if you are in the area. I may even bump into you!

Blessings! 😀

Leave a Reply

