Book Review – “A Winter Flame” by Milly Johnson

As you know Dear Reader, my reading mojo has never really bounced back, but in the past 24 hours I have been fully absorbed by Milly Johnson”A Winter Flame”.

Okay so it’s Chick Lit. I borrowed this book in December when it was Winter, and I fancied something seasonal that wasn’t taxing. However I kept renewing it and didn’t have/couldn’t find the time to read it. At the weekend I made a decision – either I read it or return it.

So I read it.

The story focuses on Eve, who lost the love of her life Jonathan, a solider who was killed in Afganistan. Her Aunt Evelyn dies leaving in her will a theme park dedicated to Christmas. For various reasons Eve doesn’t like Christmas, so imagine her horror. Add to the mix a mysterious business partner Jacques Glace, a total stranger, who she must run the park with and a few other characters which you can believe in (you can even practice your Welsh!) you have a bit of a page turner.

Okay it’s a romantic Chick Lit novel and I mean when I say page turner. Yes I did read it in 24 hours as I couldn’t put it down. It’s not often that, that happens! There is a good plot and it’s well written. It’s the first I’ve read by this author and it won’t be the last!

Blessings! 😀

Leave a Reply

