Look what I made!

Dear Reader

As you know I love crafting and trying things new. Where I live in Brum I’m not so far away from the town of Solihull. So I was pleased to learn that Solihull Arts Complex were running a series of craft workshops. I decided to book myself onto the ones that took my own personal interest. Last night I made (under the tuition of Helen) a cover for a notebook using fabric.

First of all we had to tape our fabric to the table.

20140225-210251.jpg

Then the fun began using fabric ink and stamps to decorate it! πŸ˜€

20140225-210511.jpg

I used bubble wrap to create the little dots. I then used a tape measure stamp but I put it on slightly skew whiff. At first I was like grrr but then I thought the randomness of it was effective so stamped a little more at different angles. I then thought about time, measuring and actual thoughts. I felt drawn to writing a quote – here is where the wonders of technology in the palm of your hand comes in! I found a quote by Marcel Proust. However brain was not in gear when I wrote it out with a fabric pen and I missed out a crucial word….. But then I remembered the individual letter stamps so added the missing word in that way. You can’t really see it but I know it’s there (and that’s the main thing!) πŸ˜‰

Once ironed (shh! Don’t tell OH that I did some πŸ˜‰ ) to fix it the second stage of fun entered. Sewing bits onto it. I had drawn a few flower shapes so I added a button to one of the centre bits. I was rather taken by an example that Helen had of using fabric and free machine embroidery for a type of appliquΓ© effect. In my minds eye I had a vision of a Glasgow style Rose. So I this is what I created.

20140225-212843.jpg

I can see why Kirstie Allsopp said what she said about machine embroidery being addictive! I felt empowered and experienced such a rush! Especially since I did not have an argument with the machine.

After that there was time for a little more embellishment before the final bit of sewing up. Due to the margins some of the decoration is on the inside but that doesn’t matter as it’s a nice surprise when you open the cover.

Although I did have something to take home with me.

20140225-212757.jpg

There is more that I wish to do. I want to blanket stitch the edging as well as add a bit more embellishment. I also want to create a tie (which means using another craft toy πŸ˜€ ) Hopefully I’ll be able to do this in the next couple of weeks.

I’m really pleased with the results! It’s unique and it’s mine. So can’t wait till the next workshop!

Blessings πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

