Yarn Bombing

Dearest Reader

For many many weeks I’ve been a bit quiet and quite busy working on a secret project. The secret project was erected on Tuesday as part of Solihull BID Britain in Bloom entry.

Unfortunately I was on holiday so I couldn’t see the final results or take pictures. However a few people did.
Straight Stitching has done two blog posts to it and there are loads of pictures over on Facebook on the Solihull Crafters page.

So the project was to make loads and loads of flowers to string together to drop and wrap around trees. I decided one of the easiest things to do was to make loads of French Knitting or Corking as it also known as. This was easy to do on the bus as all I needed was the doll that is used in this craft and green wool. So for weeks this was my traveling project. If anyone asked I said I was working on an art installation.

For the flowers I found the book 100 flowers to knit and crochet by Lesley Stanfield valuable.  I also did lots of crochet circles in two different colours to resemble flowers. This became a project to take to Knit Night and groups which caused much amusement as people tried to guess what I was making. Sorry that I had to keep quiet.

For those in Solihull I hope you enjoyed the hard work of all the ladies and their creative handicrafts.  For the rest of you look at the links. ๐Ÿ™‚

Here is a close up of what I made ๐Ÿ™‚

image

image

image

image

Blessings ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

