Learning to Read Your Knitting

Sometimes I can but it depends on the yarn and pattern. For shawls I often have to rely on life lines ๐Ÿ™‚

The Knitter Nerd

When I started this blog it was with the intention of tracking my progress in becoming a better knitter โ€“ or, back at that time, a knitter at all. I found the biggest hurdle in the early stages is learning to read your knitting.

What do I mean by that?

Back when I started knitting and crocheting I had real problems if I made a mistake. I would stare down at the scrap of fabric and have no idea what Iโ€™d done or why there werenโ€™t the right amount of stitches in place.

It was infuriating. For a long time I didnโ€™t like knitting at all, preferring instead to stick to my hooks. A big part of that is the fact it was much easier to see the difference in the stitches with crochet, at least for me.

Now when I make a mistake in my knitting I can seeโ€ฆ

View original post 173 more words

Leave a Reply

