Nativity

You may remember dear Reader, I agreed to knit a knitivity.  Well today saw the Nativity Service and did I manage to finish it?

image

Well bar two Shepherds,  the Ox, the Donkey, a few sheep and the Wise Men’s gifts.  Not that it matters really.  I’ve said that I will finish but not for a few days. It’s at church at the moment and will stay there  over the Christmas period.   Only because I’ve got to the stage where I am sick of it and I really need to knit a little hat for my niece.

The Church was filled with lots of other Nativity sets including another knitted one.

image

image

image

image

image

image

There was even a take using beads.

image

image

My favourite was this one made from Slate.

image

The theme of the service was Nativity but the meaning of nativity (spelt with a small n) means new beginnings and new birth. This was linked to themes of New Year and new starts.  I found it very poignant, especially since I’m wanting to make a few positive changes in the new year – and yes I’ve already made my resolutions – you’ll have to wait till 1st January to see what they are 🙂

Blessings 🙂

One thought on “Nativity

Leave a Reply

