I have to pay attention

Dear Reader

As you know I’m a Christian.  I don’t often blog about my beliefs for various reasons but I want to share with you something that I believe God is doing in my life. It does all tie in with my theme of #yearofmaking.

This weekend in the lectionary the Old Testament reading is taken from Samuel.  It’s a well known reading when God keeps waking Samuel up in the middle of the night. Samuel thinks it’s Eli his master calling him and so goes and wakes up Eli saying “Here I am”.  Eventually after the third time of being woken up, Eli twigs that it is God speaking to Samuel.  He tells Samuel that if it happens again for him to say “Speak Lord, Your servant is listening”.

So why is this passage speaking to me at the moment?  Well God isn’t waking me up in the middle of the night but he is putting people in my path who are telling me to listen. Twice this week I’ve been told “we have one mouth and two ears so we need to listen twice as much as we talk”.

With the passage being heard twice at two different services and churches the light bulb has gone off in my brain. This is something I need to pay attention to.  What do you learn from taking time to listen to God? Direction.  Where you need to go. What you need to do. How you go about doing it.

What do you learn from listening to yourself?  Answers.

What do you learn from listening to others? LOTS!

So as part of my #yearofmaking I’m going to make time to listen.

Blessings πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

