On loosing my reading mojo

Today I came across this article here

It spoke to me an awful lot as I can sympathise with the author.  I used to be that reader who ate books and it was the norm for me to regularly read a book in 24 hours. However a few years ago when my husband’s health took a bit of a turn I lost my reading mojo.

My head space also became not so good. I spent much time deep in thought and worry. If I tried to take my mind off things by reading I found that I couldn’t concentrate.  I would spend ages re – reading the same line over and over again, with nothing being absorbed. 

It didn’t matter what I tried to read.
Even reading my Bible became difficult. My favourite authors also couldn’t break through this fog that I was going through.  Whatever was suggested to read I struggled to finish a book.

Although that was a strange time and it’s going back awhile,  my appetite for reading has changed. No longer am I ravenous for a book.  A book has to be really gripping to hold my attention, to keep me entertained and enthralled to the end. It’s a rare thing for me to read a book within a couple of days.  If I do, you know it must be a good one.

I know that there’s many health benefits associated with reading and it is supposed to be a way of elevating depression.  My advice through the dark days is keep trying,  and if you can’t , don’t beat yourself up over it. Find something else that will assist in lifting you up. For me knitting became a lifeline.

The other thing I recommend is don’t be afraid to seek out help and speak about how you feel.  I know the road is hard and long. There will be good days and bad days. Eventually things will get better – just keep believing this and show yourself some love.
Blessings x

2 thoughts on “On loosing my reading mojo

  1. I wonder if you really lost your reading mojo or if it just relocated. I had a year when I didn’t read many books at all. But I was reading. I was reading the news voraciously. I was borrowing magazines and following blogs. I’d just lost my appetite for fiction and for anything of length. I needed bite-size articles that didn’t make me think too much. I too was going through a rough patch and I needed to stay mentally focused. I guess I could take any trips into my imagination.

    Hope you’re not beating yourself up too much. It doesn’t sound like you are. Read for your soul. Books will find you again.

Leave a Reply

