Prevention is better than cure

I’m beginning to fall in love with having handmade socks. As yet I’ve not had to darn them.

Making notes though. …just in case ๐Ÿ˜‰

Recipe For A Yarn

Iโ€™m having a very productive bank holiday weekend indeed. There has been bread baking, spinning, plying and erm, *cough* sock mending.

Iโ€™m quite, completely and utterly rubbish at the sock mending malarkey. Socks tend to sit ignored for a while in my craft box while I procrastinate for an age or three before reluctantly attempting to mend them. I think my lack of darning skills has a lot to do with the procrastination. I did think that buying my nifty little vintage darning loom might help but I found the instructions quite baffling. One day I hope to do a course with Tom Van Deijnen and then magically it might all click into place but I fear I might soon run out of socks in the meantime.

While I was botchingย mending one of my socks it occurred to me that perhaps the answer lie in reinforcing the socks beforeโ€ฆ

View original post 395 more words

Leave a Reply

